Sindh Cabinet Approves Establishing Full-Fledged University of Mirpurkhas


Cabinet also grants second term to VCs of 8 public sector universities; All public and private colleges of Larkana division shall henceforth be affiliated to Shaikh Ayaz University Shikarpur  

Karachi: Sindh Cabinet, which met here Tuesday with Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah in the chair, approved the draft bill of establishing a full-fledged University of Mirpurkhas.

In Mirpurkhas, campus of Sindh University was established in 2009, which was offering bachelor level and master programs. At present, the campus is running nine programs of bachelors and masters with enrolment strength of 1000 students.

The chief minister said that Mirpurkhas division has no full-fledged university therefore the Campus may be upgraded to the level of university. He added that Mirpurkhas division has three districts – Mirpurkhas itself, Tharparkar and Umerkot with a population of 4.5 million. Therefore, such a huge population should have a university, he said.

The matter was supported by provincial minister Hari ram who is MPA from Mirpurkhas and all the cabinet members consented to the proposal. The University & Board presented draft bill of University of Mirpurkhas Act 2020 which cabinet approved after thorough discussion. The cabinet directed law department to vet the draft law and present in the assembly.

The Sindh cabinet after thorough discussion has given another term to eight vice chancellors who are eminent academics. They are Dr. S.H Lodhi of NED University, Dr. Aslam Uqaili of Mehran University, Prof. Parveen Shah of Shah Abdul Latif University, Prof. Bikha Ram of LUMHS Jamshoro, Prof. Nisar Siddiqui of IBA Sukkur, Prof, Tariq Rafi if JSM University, Dr. Faizullah Abbasi of Dawwod University and Dr. Madad Ali Shah of BBS University Khairpur.

The cabinet after thorough discussion approved the jurisdiction of Shaikh Ayaz University, Shikarpur. Under the jurisdiction, all the degree colleges of Larkana division would be affiliated with Shaikh Ayaz University. The degree colleges/law colleges of the Larkana division are presently affiliated with Shah Abdul Latif University Khairpur, which falls in Sukkur Division. Now, the public and private degree colleges/institutions/law colleges’ affiliation with Shah Abdul Latif University would switch over to Shaikh Ayaz University, Shikarpur. The cabinet approved the proposal. (PR)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *