Home News Sindh govt. finally decides to launch crackdown on profiteers and hoarders

Sindh govt. finally decides to launch crackdown on profiteers and hoarders

Sindh govt. finally decides to launch crackdown on profiteers and hoarders
Sindh Chief Secretary - Sohail Rajput

The committees are comprised of Secretaries, Divisional Commissioners, Deputy Commissioners, SSPs, District Food Controllers and the Deputy Directors of Bureau & Supplies


Sindh government has constituted the committees in all the districts of the province to launch crackdown on profiteers and hoarders and control the price-hike of essential commodities.

Presiding over a meeting regarding price control of essential commodities in the province on Thursday, Chief Secretary Dr. Muhammad Sohail Rajput said that committees have been established in all districts of the province headed by Secretaries, Divisional Commissioners, Deputy Commissioners and SSPs, Deputy Food Control and the Deputy Director of Bureau & Supplies to monitor price control activities.

The committees will monitor the price control activities, supply of essential items, implementation of Sindh Essential Commodities Price Control and Prevention of Profiteering and Hoarding Act.

On the directives of Chief Secretary Sindh a notification in this regard was later issued. As per notification Secretary Industry Abdul Rasheed Solangi will monitor price control activities in district East, secretary Women Development Iqbal Anjum Jumani West, Additional Chief Secretary Local Government Syed Najam Ahmad Shah South and Secretary Labor Laeeq Ahmad will be the chairman of the price monitoring committee of district Central. Secretary Information Imran Atta Soomro will head the price monitoring committee of district Sajawal, Secretary Environment Agha Wasif Korangi, Secretary Forest Badr Jameel Mendhro Malir, Secretary IT Asif Ikram Kemari, Secretary Works Services Shariq Ahmed Hyderabad, Secretary Agriculture Ijaz Ahmed Mahesar Dadu, Secretary DEP Hadi Bakhsh Kalhoro Badin, Secretary Food Raja Shahzad Tando Alahyar, Secretary Public Health Engineering Bachal Rahputo Jamshoro, Secretary Transport Abdul Halim Sheikh Tando Muhammad Khan, Secretary Auqaf Munawar Ali Mahesar Thatta, Secretary School Education Ghulam Akbar Laghari Matyari, Secretary Excise Atif Rehman Mirpur Khas, Secretary University Board Mureed Rahmon Tharparkar, Secretary Mines & Minerals Khalid Chachar Umarkot, Secretary Health Zulfiqar Shah Shaheed Benazirabad, Secretary Livestock Nowshehruz Feroze, Secretary Energy Abubakar Ahmed Sukkur, Secretary Cooperative Shahid Abdul Salam Sanghar, Secretary Minority Affairs Muhammad Abbas Baloch Khairpur,  Secretary Sports Abdul Hadi Balu Ghotki, Secretary Culture Naseem-ul-Ghani Sehto Larkana, Secretary Irrigation Sohail Ahmed Qureshi Jacobabad, Secretary Human Rights Sibghatullah Maher Shikarpur, Secretary Population Rehan Iqbal Baloch Qamber Shahdadkot while Secretary Rehabilitation Muhammad Ali Khoso will head the committee to Monitoring price control activities of Kashmore Kundhkot.

Chief Secretary Sindh further said that district administration should visit flour mills and oil mills and take strict action wherever there is hoarding. He said that Bachat Bazaars will be set up in every tehsil by the government during the month of Ramadan.

“Supply of essential items at low prices will be ensured in bachat bazaars” he said. The Chief Secretary Sindh further stated that government subsidized flour will be sold at discounted price in bachat bazaars.

Chief Secretary said that the existing price control law will be amended to give more powers to the Price Control Inspectors in the province. “The fine will be increased from Rs.30000 to Rs.0.5 million and the shop will be sealed with all items auctioned at the government rate.

He further said that the section officers and other officers will also be given powers of price checking in Ramadan. A Committee was constituted to prepare draft for amendment in existing price control law. The committee includes Secretary Home, Secretary Agriculture, Commissioner Karachi and Commissioner Hyderabad.

Secretary Home Saeed Ahmed Mangnejo, Commissioner Karachi Muhammad Iqbal Memon, Secretary Industries Abdul Rasheed Solangi, Secretary Information Technology Asif Ikram, Secretary Food and Secretary Agriculture and others participated in the meeting while all divisional commissioners participated in the meeting via video link. (PR)




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here